Skip Navigation

Oversight Committees

Advisory Board
The purpose of the UHI Advisory Board is to ensure the UHI and its work represents the full range of Johns Hopkins resources originally established by then JHU President William Brody. The Advisory Board is made up of the President of Johns Hopkins Hospital, Deans from the Johns Hopkins Schools of Medicine, Nursing, Public Health, Arts & Sciences and Education and is chaired by the Provost.

Community-University Coordinating Council
The Community University Coordinating Council (CUCC) provides guidance and assistance to the UHI by ensuring that the priorities of the UHI are in line with those of the University and the community. The CUCC assists UHI in developing its work plan, reviews progress on the work plan, and provides budget recommendations.  The CUCC membership is evenly divided between University and community representatives.  Co-chair leadership is shared representing a community and a University member.  Quarterly meetings are held, including an annual retreat.  In addition, one joint meeting with the UHI Advisory Board is held once a year. 

Advisory Board

Sunil Kumar, PhD, MSc
Provost and Sr. Vice President for Academic Affairs, Johns Hopkins University

Mariale M. Hardiman, EdD
Interim Dean, Johns Hopkins School of Education

Bernard Ferrari, MD, JD, MBA
Dean, Johns Hopkins Carey Business School

Patricia Davidson, PhD, MEd, FAAN
Dean, Johns Hopkins School of Nursing

Michael J. Klag, MD, MPH
Dean, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

Beverly Wendland, PhD
Dean, Johns Hopkins Zanvyl Krieger School of Arts and Sciences

Ronald Peterson, MHA
President, The Johns Hopkins Health System

Paul Rothman, MD
Dean of the Medical Faculty and CEO for Johns Hopkins Medicine


Community-University Coordinating Council

Debra Hickman, co-chair
President, Sisters Together and Reaching (STAR)

Selwyn Ray, co-chair
Director of Community Relations, Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center

Elizabeth Alex
Regional Director, CASA

David Altschuler
Principal Research Scientist, Institute for Health and Social Policy, Johns Hopkins University

Carmen Alvarez
Assistant Professor, Department of Community Public Health
Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing

Tony Bridges
Director of Human Services and Operations
Park Heights Renaissance

James Calvin
Professor, Johns Hopkins Carey Business School

Faith Connolly
Executive Director, Baltimore Education Research Consortium

Clarence “Tiger” Davis
Former MD State Delegate, East Baltimore Community Member

Gary Dittman
Pastor, Amazing Grace Lutheran Church

Dan Hale
Special Advisor, Office of The President, Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center

Seema Iyer
Director, Baltimore Neighborhood Indicators Alliance

Anne Langley
Senior Director, Health Planning and Community Engagement
Johns Hopkins Health System

Mindi Levin
Director, Student Outreach Resource Center (SOURCE)
Johns Hopkins University

John Morris, Jr.
Community Member

Lynn Mumma
Vice President of Strategy, Behavioral Health System Baltimore

Kathleen Page
Associate Professor, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Darcy Phelan-Emrick
Chief, Epidemiology Services, Baltimore City Health Department

Leon Purnell
Executive Director, The Men and Families Center

Catalina Rodriguez Lima
Director, Mayor’s Office of Immigrant and Multicultural Affairs

Jonathon Rondeau
President and CEO, Family League of Baltimore

Melvin Russell
Chief, Community Policing Division, Baltimore City Police Department

Ben Seigel
Executive Director, Johns Hopkins 21st Century Cities Initiative

Michele Speaks
Development Consultant

Albert Wu
Professor, Health Policy & Management Medicine, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
Director, DEcIDE Center for Comparative Effectiveness Research

design element
Bookmark and Share

©, Johns Hopkins University. All rights reserved. Web policies, 615 N. Wolfe Street, Baltimore, MD 21205