Skip to main content

Oversight Committees

Advisory Board

The purpose of the UHI Advisory Board is to ensure the UHI and its work represents the full range of Johns Hopkins resources originally established by then JHU President William Brody. The Advisory Board is made up of the President of Johns Hopkins Hospital, Deans from the Johns Hopkins Schools of Medicine, Nursing, Public Health, Arts & Sciences and Education and is chaired by the Provost.

  • Sunil Kumar, PhD, MSc, Provost and Sr. Vice President for Academic Affairs, Johns Hopkins University
  • Christopher S. Celenza, PhD, DrPhil, Dean, Johns Hopkins Zanvyl Krieger School of Arts and Sciences
  • Theodore DeWeese, MD, Interim Dean of the Medical Faculty and CEO, Johns Hopkins Medicine
  • Ellen MacKenzie, PhD, Dean, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
  • Redonda Miller, MD, MBA, President, Johns Hopkins Hospital
  • Christopher Morphew, PhD, Dean, Johns Hopkins School of Education
  • Sarah L. Szanton, PhD, RN, FAAN, Dean, Johns Hopkins School of Nursing
  • Alexander J. Triantis, PhD, BASc, Meng, Dean, Carey Business School

Community-University Coordinating Council

The Community-University Coordinating Council (CUCC) provides guidance and assistance to the UHI by ensuring that the priorities of the UHI are in line with those of the University and the community. The CUCC assists UHI in developing its work plan, reviews progress on the work plan, and provides budget recommendations.  The CUCC membership is evenly divided between University and community representatives and co-chair leadership is a shared representation of a community and a University member.  

  • Debra Hickman, Community co-chair, President, Sisters Together and Reaching (STAR)
  • Selwyn RayHopkins co-chair, Director of Community Relations, Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center
  • James R. Calvin, Professor, Johns Hopkins Carey Business School, Faculty and Board Member, Center for Africana Studies, Johns Hopkins Krieger School of Arts and Sciences
  • Celeste Davis, Chief Health Policy Officer, Baltimore City Health Department
  • Gary Dittman, Pastor, Amazing Grace Lutheran Church
  • Lori Edwards, Associate Professor, University of Maryland School of Nursing; Senior Director, Local Community Engagement for the University of Maryland Baltimore Center for Global Education Initiatives
  • Mónica Guerrero Vázquez, Executive Director, Johns Hopkins Center for Salud/Health and Opportunity for Latinos (JHU Centro SOL)
  • Dan Hale, Special Advisor, Office of The President, Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center
  • Nondie Hemphill, Associate Director of Local Government and Community Affairs, Johns Hopkins University and Medicine 
  • Tomi Hiers, Vice President, Center for Civic Sites and Community Change, The Annie E. Casey Foundation
  • Dan Hymowitz, Director of Performance and Innovation, Mayor’s Office of Performance and Innovation
  • Jacky Jennings, Associate Professor, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
  • Mindi B. Levin, Founder and Director, SOURCE, The Community Engagement and Service-Learning Center, Johns Hopkins Schools of Public Health, Nursing, and Medicine, Johns Hopkins University
  • Lynn Mumma, Vice President, Operations and Chief Operating Officer, Behavioral Health System Baltimore
  • Darryl PerryBunting Fellow’21, Community Organizer and CEO, Allied Promotion & Consulting
  • Elyse Preston, Bunting Fellow’17, Founder, Be More Connected, Host, Be More Connected Podcast
  • Tamar Rodney, Assistant Professor, Track Coordinator, Post-Master’s Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Certificate, Johns Hopkins School of Nursing
  • Michelle Spencer, Associate Director, Bloomberg American Health Initiative
  • Lindsay J Thompson, Associate Professor of Practice,, Johns Hopkins Carey School of Business
  • Albert Wu, Professor, Health Policy & Management Medicine, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Director, DEcIDE Center for Comparative Effectiveness Research