Skip Navigation

Oversight Committees

Advisory Board

The purpose of the UHI Advisory Board is to ensure the UHI and its work represents the full range of Johns Hopkins resources originally established by then JHU President William Brody. The Advisory Board is made up of the President of Johns Hopkins Hospital, Deans from the Johns Hopkins Schools of Medicine, Nursing, Public Health, Arts & Sciences and Education and is chaired by the Provost.

  • Sunil Kumar, PhD, MSc, Provost and Sr. Vice President for Academic Affairs, Johns Hopkins University
  • Christopher S. Celenza, PhD, DrPhil, Dean, Johns Hopkins Zanvyl Krieger School of Arts and Sciences
  • Ellen MacKenzie, PhD, Dean, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
  • Redonda Miller, MD, MBA, President, Johns Hopkins Hospital
  • Christopher Morphew, PhD, Dean, Johns Hopkins School of Education
  • Marie T. Nolan, PHD, MPH, RN, Interim Dean, Johns Hopkins School of Nursing
  • Ronald Peterson, MHA, President Emeritus, The Johns Hopkins Health System
  • Paul Rothman, MD, Dean of the Medical Faculty and CEO for Johns Hopkins Medicine
  • Alexander J. Triantis, PhD, BASc, Meng, Dean, Carey Business School

Community-University Coordinating Council

The Community University Coordinating Council (CUCC) provides guidance and assistance to the UHI by ensuring that the priorities of the UHI are in line with those of the University and the community. The CUCC assists UHI in developing its work plan, reviews progress on the work plan, and provides budget recommendations.  The CUCC membership is evenly divided between University and community representatives and co-chair leadership is a shared representation of a community and a University member.  

  • Debra Hickman, Community co-chair, President, Sisters Together and Reaching (STAR)
  • Selwyn Ray, Hopkins co-chair, Director of Community Relations, Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center
  • Rachel Brooks, Lead Organizer, Baltimoreans United in Leadership Development (BUILD)
  • Elizabeth Alex, Regional Director, CASA
  • Carmen Alvarez, Assistant Professor, Department of Community Public Health, Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing
  • Julia Baez, Executive Director, Baltimore’s Promise
  • James Calvin, Professor, Johns Hopkins Carey Business School
  • Jasmine Campbell, 2017 Bunting Neighborhood Leadership Fellow, Director of Programs, Workforce Development Living Classrooms Foundation - National Capital Region
  • Clarence 'Tiger' Davis, Former MD State Delegate, East Baltimore Community Member State President, AARP Maryland, Chairman of the Baltimore City Veterans Commission State Commander, National Association for Black Veterans 
  • Gary Dittman, Pastor, Amazing Grace Lutheran Church
  • Lori Edwards, Associate Professor, University of Maryland School of Nursing Senior Director, Local Community Engagement for the University of Maryland Baltimore Center for Global Education Initiatives, University of Maryland School of Social Work
  • Mónica Guerrero Vázquez, Program Coordinator Johns Hopkins Center for Salud/Health and Opportunity for Latinos (Centro SOL), 2017 Bloomberg American Health Initiative Fellow
  • Dan Hale, Special Advisor, Office of The President, Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center
  • Tomi Hiers, Director, Baltimore Civic Site, Annie E. Casey Foundation
  • Dan Hymowitz, Director, Mayor’s Office of Innovation
  • Seema Iyer, Director, Baltimore Neighborhood Indicators Alliance
  • Jacky Jennings, Associate Professor, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
  • Mindi Levin, Director, Student Outreach Resource Center (SOURCE), Johns Hopkins University
  • Lynn Mumma, Vice President of Strategy, Behavioral Health System Baltimore
  • Darcy Phelan-Emrick, Chief, Epidemiology Services, Baltimore City Health Department
  • Michelle Spencer, Associate Director, Bloomberg American Health Initiative
  • Lindsay Thompson, PhD, Associate Professor of Practice, Johns Hopkins Carey School of Business
  • Albert Wu, Professor, Health Policy & Management Medicine, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Director, DEcIDE Center for Comparative Effectiveness Research